Distant

“You’re distant, Sarah,” he said. “Hauntingly distant.”

I answered, I questioned, I answered, “I am.”

How can I not be after the week I’ve had?

The year I’ve had. The life I’ve had.

And I’m so angry; I’m not even sure what about.

Maybe it’s my lovers, or my brother, or my father, or God.

But I keep losing everyone I love.

How can I not be distant? Tell me, friend–how can I not?

Cause there are some things you can never unlive–

No matter how hard you try.

So let’s stop pretending that Jesus will fix it.

He can’t undo the choices I’ve made.

And I’m so weary of the grief like I’m weary of snow.

I wish it would melt and flood me so I can feel whole.

But I’m so buried beneath it all.

I can’t feel anything anymore.

How can I not be distant?–I’ve lost everyone I love.

And I’m losing my mind here, in the chaos of it all.

So when you walk away, friend, I understand.

I’ll be here, distant and alone, in the end.

This entry was posted in SemStuff. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Distant

  1. Ben says:

    Very strong post. I appreciate hearing where your journey is right now. Pressure strengthens the layers within us but it still sucks when it is happening. Remind yourself of the key things that you learn within this process, it will help others when they are there.

  2. Dave Wade says:

    “So let’s stop pretending that Jesus will fix it. He can’t undo the choices I’ve made.”

    Of course not, however, if we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. 1John 1:9

    It’s SPRING – move south and get some Sun !!

Leave a Reply

