Galarraga’s Perfect Game

Just in case you missed it…here’s the scoop on Galarraga’s Perfect Game.

Ugh. I still can’t believe it. “Robbed” doesn’t even begin to describe this. Two things worth noting:

First, Armando is so gracious. He must be feeling a whole lot of things, but he is gracious to Jim Joyce.

Second, to Joyce’s credit, he apologized to Galarraga. I imagine even Galarraga doesn’t feel worse than Joyce tonight!

But…in the end, a bad call is just that–a bad call. We know that Galarraga threw a Perfect Game tonight, and Detroit fans (and many others, I’m sure) will remember it. No one can rob him of his performance tonight.

Great job, Galarraga! You’re my Tiger!

This entry was posted in Detroit Tigers. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Galarraga’s Perfect Game

  1. Dave says:

    Well said…I didn’t watch it live, but with all the buzz I had to go watch the replay. Amazing composure….even for someone who has a level head it would have been difficult to keep cool in those circumstances.

    • semmie says:

      I know, right? I would not have been nearly so gracious and calm if it were me. I am just so impressed with Galarraga’s response–not only to the bad call, but to the ump who made it.

      But…it does suck enormously.

  2. Steve Ward says:

    Joyce feels so bad about the bad call right now that he would kick himself if he could. But, Bud Selig still has to render his judgement. Hopefully, he’ll do the right thing in this instance.

  3. Steve Ward says:

    Breaking news on Foxnews.com: “Baseball Commissioner Bud Selig Will Not Reverse Call That Cost Armando Galarraga a Perfect Game.”

    • semmie says:

      Sucky, huh? But…he still pitched a perfect game, even if the record doesn’t say so. I’m proud of him…and I’m proud of Joyce for apologizing to AG.

Leave a Reply

