3

It’s a magic number. Yes, it is. It’s a magic number. The past and the present and the future. Faith and hope and charity. The heart and the brain and the body gives you 3. It’s a magic number.

Just kidding.

3.

As in…3A.M. is the best time to write. 🙂

Unfortunately, it’s also one of the best times to sleep. Doh.

It is true, though. I was up writing at 3A.M. I didn’t intend to be. In fact, I was in bed at the very reasonable hour of 1:30 this morning. The problem was that once I turned off my light, I had words spilling out of my brain and I knew that if I ignored them I would lose them. So I wrote. And I wrote. And I wrote.

I haven’t much to show for it except several new ideas that are challenging my current NaNoWriMo plan. I have to honor this with some serious thought because my initial NaNo plan was to write something entirely non-related to The Legend of Ae. In fact, I wanted to distance myself from the fantasy realm altogether. I confess, I probably won’t make a final decision until November 1st, when I am forced to begin.

The other thing I’m working on is my Writing Niche. I have this huge, gorgeous desk that has been well-suited to my many endeavors–drawing maps, journaling, scrapbooking, letter writing, reading, studying scripture, et cet. Unfortunately, it has long been overrun with niknaks and candles and binders and card stock. My goal is to entirely resettle my desk before November 1st so that I have a comfortable place to write. I also want to surround that space with words and images that inspire me.

So that is what I will be doing today, I think. It’s a much bigger undertaking than I want to admit. Wish me luck!

Pax Christi.

Semmie

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 3

  1. Kelp says:

    You’re probably farther along than I am lol. I spent several hours yesterday pouring out characterization possibilities for a horror/sci-fi story I thought of. I wound up with seven round character, three of which are dynamic. The book would have to be 40% flashback just to develop them (not to mention winding up the size of The Brothers Karamozov*)!I don’t think I’m skilled enough to do ultra compressed, indirect characterization which at the same time illustrates my overall theme, so I might have to save this project for later rather than face a Sophie’s Choice, trimming it down situation.

    I was reluctant to try something in the universe I created because I’m having doubts that the Space Opera genre hasn’t become something of a dead horse; but maybe I’ll give it a whirl.

    Good luck!

    *That’s the book, not the guys. Being 19th Century Russians, I doubt they were that well nourished. :p

  2. semmie says:

    i’m probably not as far along as the impression i might give… 😉 but yes–i hear you re: Sophie. however…can’t you use NaNoWriMo to just get moving on it? why not begin with that flashback material if you’re not ready to tackle the rest of it? or…is it flashback that is spread out through the course of the story? hrm. i still think you could do this. write the flashback material that you need. it would get your foot well inside the door for the entire work. 🙂

Leave a Reply

