Writing

So how is the 500 Word A Day Challenge going? Is anybody else participating? Here’s where I’m at:

500 Words A Day Challenge

That’s total of 5,432 words in seven days. I must admit, I’m happy with my progress on this challenge. As I said, I’d like to make this a habit for me. It’s not the only writing I’m doing, which is important. I’m still journaling, still writing a letter, still working on my novel. This is a specific blessing in that it has pushed me to write my thoughts in a way I haven’t for awhile now. I’ve not decided yet whether I want to post these entries to my blog. Some of it is incredibly personal; some of it is incredibly political; some of it is incredibly theological. Most of it is incredibly offensive to someone or another. I hate offending people.

I am thrilled to be writing, though. I’m finding myself quick to choose a topic and write about it. I’ve even impressed myself by not tangenting too often or too severely. Trust me, this is a major feat! And now something amazing is happening: the more I write, the more I want to write; the more I am inspired to write; the more I think about writing; the more I am comfortable writing. It’s an amazing feeling. I’m not entirely sure, but I think I am finding my voice again.

I have never wanted to be a “brilliant” writer. You know?  Jane Austen was a brilliant writer. Tolkien was a brilliant writer. G.K. Chesterton was a brilliant writer. C. H. Mackintosh was a brilliant writer. Emily Dickinson was a brilliant writer. I have never desired to be “brilliant.” My desire has always been that when someone reads my words, that they would feel as if we were sitting in the living room in front of a fireplace, drinking warm apple cider, and speaking honestly about the world. I hope I will accomplish that on some miniscule level.

And in the meanwhile, since I’m not overwhelmed with too many other things in my life, I’ve decided to submit a piece or two of my work to some Christian publications and see if anything comes of it. I know I need to be prepared for rejection, but I just can’t reconcile myself to any idea of why I shouldn’t at least try.

And, in the other meanwhile, I am listening to Phil Keaggy, who is both brilliant and inspiring.

Pax Christi.

semmie

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Writing

  1. semmie varner says:

    I love it,I have now 6,500 words in six day’s,I am good…….

Leave a Reply

