Updates

500 Word A Day Challenge

Hi Kids!

So here’s a chart for you, showing my 500 Word A Day Challenge progress so far. The lavender is my goal of 500 words; the purple is my actual word count each day. Don’t worry–that’s 512 on the 20th. đŸ˜‰ I’m really enjoying this challenge. I’ve heard that to create a habit, you need to do something for 28 days in a row. So that is my goal. After 28 days, I will see how it’s looking and feeling; I may beef up to the 1,000 Word A Day Challenge!  Who knows.

I will say that I am amazed at how difficult it can be to write 500 words when your brain isn’t focused on writing. I think part of my problem is that I have a hard time turning off all other distractions–the Tiger game, my music, Yahoo messenger, etc. When I do turn off the distractions, I find myself quite easily attacking the 500. In fact, last night I was at 500 before I knew what hit me.

I started my Pillire interview. Thank you so much for your insightful questions, everyone! I’ve had to rethink Pillire’s character quite a bit–which was the point of this exercise–and I’m learning a lot. I will continue to work on this interview and will post it here on my blog when it’s complete. If you think of new questions in the meantime, please feel free to add them.

I’ve been working on my story quite a bit. I hesitate to jinx it by saying too much here in my blog. I’ve been struggling with the plot for a long while now, and I think I’ve finally got a good jump on what course the story will take. It has pushed me to revise Pillire’s character even further, so I am interested to see how this will all work out. I’ve gotten a great bit of history done, as well as some other tidbits about names and culture and things of that nature. I’m truly excited about the direction I’m headed right now, and look forward to getting some distance covered for my first draft.

The Starlings have hatched. The little creepy bird babies are annoying. They make a lot of noise. I haven’t taken a photo yet, because truthfully, I’m afraid of the Momma Starling. I’m afraid she’ll come and peck my eyes out if I try to get close to the babies.

As for the rest of the world–crazy stuff happening, eh? My heart goes out to the Iranian people. I am proud of them and broken for them. It’s easy to forget, in 21st century America, the price by which freedom comes. It is never free.

I think I need to go now.

Pax Christi.

semmie.

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

