Dear Steve Ward!!!

Dear Steve,

HEY!!! I am so glad you found your way to my new blog! I admit–I’m not yet as smitten with it as I was my previous blog, but it is growing on me quickly. I have missed you, friend…and your input…your prayers. I hope you’ll stick around, keep me on my toes in terms of my blogging.

So let’s respond to your comment on my Pillire letter.

I’m glad to see that you’re still writing. Did you finish your other book that you started on NaNoWriMo?

I didn’t even come close to finishing my NaNoWriMo book last year. It wasn’t a total disappointment, however, because I was able to write some of the history of the world for my novel. As they say–the best way to write, is to write. A lot of it was material I will never use, could never use! But it stirred up a lot of stories, a lot of history, and a lot of culture. So I’m happy with it. How did it turn out for you? Did you get anywhere?

Oh,yes….I used to be considered a pretty good artist, if you need someone to draw a picture of Pillire. I would definitely need to know more about this character.

You know, I may take you up on that. My buddy Toj is also handy with a pencil. I figure if I can keep friends like the two of you, I don’t have to sweat not being able to draw. 😀 You actually read my first intro, didn’t you? The one that began, “And to the north there dwelled strange creatures indeed.” Well, that’s Pillire–an Iloni. I’ll work on a word sketch for you, and if you’d like to take a stab at it, that would rock my face off.  I must warn you, though, I only have a vague idea of what he should look like, myself! Seeing an image of him could be very inspiring. 🙂

I miss your blogs, by the way. “Open Letters” doesn’t seem to say what’s going on in your life. And I still pray for you, although I must admit it’s less frequent now. Don’t be a strange, okay?

You can read my blogs here! I hope you will. I miss the blog audience that I used to have over yonder, but I just don’t want to be there anymore. I had hoped that more of y’all would follow me over here and keep following my thoughts. As for the “Open Letters” theme, I am curious why you are dissatisfied with it. I admit, it has limited me in how, when, and why I blog–but that was partly by design. I wanted the challenge of keeping some form and structure to my blogs, rather than ranting and rambling as I am somewhat prone to do. I am, of course, open to suggestions! Since you are one of my oldest blog readers, you know my writing style: What do you recommend?

That’s about all I’ve got for now, Steve. Thanks again for making your way over here. I do hope you’ll pop back in from time to time. I have missed you! And I have been praying for you. I hope things are well for you, your family, your church (I’ve been dying to know how things at church are going–are you involved with worship???).

Pax Christi.

semmie.

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dear Steve Ward!!!

  1. Steve Ward says:

    “NaNoWriMo…How did it turn out for you? Did you get anywhere?”

    Well…I didn’t even get to a thousand words. I might have been a little further along on my home computer, but I could tell that I would never make it. Like you, I was starting some background information and a glossary. And I couldn’t help myself but to go back to the beginning to proof read. That’s one of my worst compulsions.

    “You actually read my first intro, didn’t you? The one that began, “And to the north there dwelled strange creatures indeed.” Well, that’s Pillire–an Iloni.”

    Actually, I missed that one. I’ll back track and check it out.

    “As for the “Open Letters” theme, I am curious why you are dissatisfied with it. I admit, it has limited me in how, when, and why I blog–but that was partly by design. I wanted the challenge of keeping some form and structure to my blogs, rather than ranting and rambling as I am somewhat prone to do. I am, of course, open to suggestions! Since you are one of my oldest blog readers, you know my writing style: What do you recommend?”

    I see that it is good to keep to a structure. My concern is that I miss some of those rants and ramblings (They were prayer fodder, i.e., things in your life that I could pray about.) , but I agree with sticking to a program- especially when trying to hone your skills as a writer.

    “I hope things are well for you, your family, your church (I’ve been dying to know how things at church are going–are you involved with worship???).”

    Everybody here is doing alright. My daughter (Krissy) is in middle school now. She actually likes. it! Bing has had a rough time in second grade. I wish we would have put him into ESL (English as a Second Language.), even though he said he doesn’t speak Chinese anymore…or so he says. And my wife, Karen…well, lets say that Karen is just Karen. That’s a safe answer just in case this comment fall into enemy hands. 😉 As far as Worship, I’m still playing bass in the praise band.

    My God richly bless you!

    Steve

Leave a Reply

