Dear Pillire

Dear Pillire,

I find you quite troublesome. Sure, I find you inspiring, but outrageously troublesome. Why can’t you be normal?

Nah, I don’t want you to be normal. I want you to be you. The problem is in figuring out who you are.

I love the challenge of writing a character who is not human. There is both a blessing and a curse, however, in writing a character that is unlike any character you’ve ever read in your favorite literature. The blessing, of course, is that you draw from ideas and inspirations to create something new. There is an enormous amount of liberty in this! The curse, conversely, is that you can’t go back and read what Tolkien wrote about this type of character. There is a real limit to the amount of gleaning you can do from others’ writing in terms of describing how this character might move, act, speak, fight, et cetera.

You, Pillire, are every challenge I could hope for, and every challenge I could loathe. You are my obsession. You are at once both entirely new and entirely familiar to me, and I am truly struggling to capture you in writing. I do see glimpses of you in other characters, but I hesitate to draw from those examples for fear that you may become too much like them.

What I do know is that I am quite smitten with the idea of you. I find myself wishing that you were not a character in my fictional writing, but were a real being, with substance and form and life. Since you are not, I will continue to struggle with writing and creating you.

Part of the problem, I must admit, is that I am human. You are superhuman. Your level of wisdom and intellect far surpasses my own! How do I write a wisdom that is superior not only to mine (which isn’t such a huge accomplishment, truly), but to any I’ve ever witnessed. And remember, some of my other characters are based off of some of the wisest folks I’ve ever known.  So I’m challenged not only to write you wiser than anyone I know, but wiser than any of my other characters. You truly are a pickle for me, you know that?

But you are who you are. And if you can be who are you, then I can write who you are. It is a challenge, but it is not an impossible undertaking. I am confident that the more time and energy we put into this, the better a character you will be.

And by “better,” I do not mean “perfect.” I mean simply that you will be more accurately and well written. You are by no means perfect! You are aloof and snotty, if you want to know the truth of it. I must be cautious not to humanize your flaws too much, but even you will undergo a change of heart before the final word is written. I look forward to this a great deal.

This would be easier if I could draw.

But since I can’t, I must rely on words and word excercises. So, if anyone is reading this blog entry, I am going to ask a favor of you: Ask me a question about Pillire. That’s it. Ask me a question about him. Don’t ask a lame question, like “what kind of creature is he,” because I won’t tell you (if you don’t know already, then I don’t want to spoil your expectations by revealing too much). Ask something thought-provoking, something you would ask if you were interviewing your hero, something like, “who is YOUR hero?”  In fact, that is a good question. I may use it.

My next exercise, after gathering some questions, will be to answer them as Pillire. This should be both fun and informative.

Pillire, don’t give up on me. I’ll write you successfully. I promise.

Pax Christi.

semmie.

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Dear Pillire

  1. Ray Holick says:

    Hiya Sarahmoo…..interesting situation you are in. I have a few questions for you/Pillire and they are as follows:
    1. What is Pillire’s view of God? As a super-being him/her/it-self, does Pillire deign to bow down to a ‘higher power’, or is he/she/it antecedent to any faith based belief practices? Is Pillire an atheist?

    2. What is Pillire’s biggest fear? Failure? Spiders n snakes?

    3. Parents? Are they dead or alive? What influence, or lack of, did they have in Pillire’s development?

    4. Is there a ‘love life’? Does Pillire have a boy/girl/thing friend?

    Ok, i will stop for now, i hope these were not totally dumb questions. You have, as always, the right to slap me in answer to one or all of them. Cant wait to converse with Pillire.

    Til then, Ray
    ‘When I AM is, i am not’

  2. Ray Holick says:

    Hiya Sarahmoo….interesting situation you have-creating someone/something greater than yourself, and eventually, becoming that being (isnt that simply becoming the greater YOU that you potentially are?)
    Anywho, I will attempt to present you with a few questions, as follows:
    1. What is Pillire’s view of God? As a super-being him/her/it self, does Pillire deign to bow down to a superior being….or is Pillire antecedent to any faith-based belief system? Is Pillire an athiest?

    2. What is Pillire’s greatest fear? Failure? Causing/creating destruction? Spiders n Snakes?

    3. Does Pillire have any love interests? Is there a boy/girl/thing friend under the sheets?

    4. How about Parents? Are they/is it alive? What role did they/it have in Pillire’s upbringing? Did Pillire spontaneously come into existence?

    I will stop for now. I hope these were not totally mundane questions. You have the right, as always, to answer with silence.
    Good hunting, TOJ RAY
    ‘When I AM is, i am not’

  3. semmie says:

    great questions, tojboi!! thanks for playing along. i’ll wait and see what other questions i can come up with, and then i’ll answer a few. 🙂

    thanks so much for participating in my writing exercise. you rock.

    pax christi.
    sem

  4. Steve Ward says:

    Hi Sarah,

    It’s been quite a while since I last communicated with you. I’m glad to see that you’re still writing. Did you finish your other book that you started on NaNoWriMo?

    Anyway, here’s a question: Does Pillire have any code or creed by which he/she lives by-one that is scared, and unthinkable to break from?

    Oh,yes….I used to be considered a pretty good artist, if you need someone to draw a picture of Pillire. I would definitely need to know more about this charaacter.

    I hope everything is going well for you. I miss your blogs, by the way. “Open Letters” doesn’t seem to say what’s going on in your life. And I still pray for you, although I must admit it’s less frequent now. Don’t be a strange, okay?

  5. Toge says:

    Hmm…I don’t know a thing about Pillire…but I’ll give it a try…hope these are helpful to you.

    Where does Pillire call “home”? Where does he/she go to feel safe? Or just to get away from “reality”? (Tangible or intangible)

    What color are Pillire’s eyes?

    What is Pillire’s favorite hobby?

    Who does Pillire confide in? Who does he/she have to tell the deepest secrets of the soul to?

    I want to read your story!! Did you write it on toilet paper again??? 😉

  6. semmie says:

    uhm…no, i didn’t write it on toilet paper… (yet 😉 ).

    thanks for the questions! these are great!

  7. sisstor says:

    are there others like him? or is he the only one of his kind? if there are others of his kind, so they all have super-human characteristics? where does his super-humanness come from? was he created that way? born that way? or did something happen to cause him to become super-human?

    does he like mustard or ketchup on his corndogs? when he goes to BK does he order fries or onion rings?

  8. Raptor says:

    Q1. How did Pillirre gain his/her wisdom? (Is he/she old — well traveled — or a wandering elvish historian?)

    Q2. What is Pillirre place in elvish society and how is he/she treated by others?

    Q3. What mark does Pillire what to leave on the world?

    Thats all I can think of off the top of my head. But I’m looking foward to the answers.

    Raptor

  9. semmie says:

    yay! more questions from sisssstor and from Raptor!

    p.s. YAY! Raptor! you found my new blog!!!! i’ve missed you! happy father’s day! GO TIGERS!!!!

Leave a Reply

