Dear Spmechy

Dear Spmechy,

I can hear your bones rattling in fear of my greatness.

Just kidding.

How are ya, Spmech?

I’m trying to make sense of my new blog. I really like it here. It’s about the most natural blogosphere I’ve encountered since I began blogging back in…oh…my Doogie Howser days. I’m learning, however, that there is much potention for this blog space.

My old blog was limited, and rightly so. It was a blog, plain and simple. WordPress will allow me (I think) to actually create different areas of my site. I thought it might be an interesting option to explore. My true loves will always remain: music, theology, reading, etc. But I’m learning that there is actually more to who I am than I ever knew.

For instance, I am quite charged, politically. Who knew?! This means that every now and then I’m going to rant and rave about CNN’s bias and the hell-in-a-handbasket situation our nation is in. I am also weary of always trying to be profound in my writing; I want to write for the sake of writing, which means that every now and then I’m going to post a poem that is short, witty, and completely unimpressive. I am also enormously weary of trying to impress the tweb mafia with my “I’m too holy to listen to PCD or read Joel Osteen because they might be heretics!” crap.

Hey…Spmech…I like PCD. I enjoy their musicality–which is far more than I can say for some of other Christian musicians. And I’m sorry, I’m done acting like it’s a crime for me to listen to something I like because it might be less than perfect in its portrayal of God. If we truly believed this, we would stop listening to secular music, too, right? And we don’t.

And I don’t even like Joel Osteen, but you know something? I think he’s trying to do a good thing. And I’m sorry if it steps on peoples’ toes, but the fact is that there are a lot of hurting people out there who are aching for just a word of life and encouragement. They don’t always need to hear, “suck it up.” Sometimes they need to hear, “with God, all things are possible, friend!” Maybe it tickles our ears. Maybe we like it because it sounds good. Nah. That’s not why I like it. I like it because I’m tired of all the fuss and dissention among Christians. I’m tired of a “good sermon” having to consist of doctrinal stances we will never agree on. Why CAN’T we say uplifting things? Why CAN’T we “amen” Joel Osteen once in awhile? Again…I don’t even like the guy. So whatever.

My point is…I forgot what my point was. Oh, right. My point was that…the Church can do one of two things: the Church can hide behind our perfect exegesis and push away everyone who rolls their eyes–whether in disagreement, frustration, or boredom–or we can say something that is relevant to our world. I’m not saying we water-down our faith–not by any means! I’m saying we speak the gospel, in season and out, and stop focusing on all these other things that we think will save us.

They don’t save us.

And our world, Spmechy…our society…our government, our children, our familes, our friends, our neighbors, our enemies…they are broken. They don’t care whether we’re preterists or historicists or futurists. They don’t care whether we believe in transubstantiation or consubstantiation or symbolism. They don’t care if we clap or sing four-part harmony. They just don’t care. Do you know why? Because it doesn’t matter. None of those things changes the message of salvation; the fact of the cross and the resurrection; the person of our Savior. None of those things makes us more holy, or less broken, or more able to cope with our lives. None of these things prove that we are redeemed.

But are we redeemed?

I struggle with this question.

I think perhaps part of the reason we get so wrapped up in theology and doctrine is because if we stopped…

…if we closed our books…

…if we set down our pens and highlighters and post-it notes…

…if we stopped talking…

…stopped thinking…

…stopped running in circles trying to make sense of a God who is infinitely beyond our power to grasp…

…if we were just silent in His presence…

…perhaps we, too, would realize the depth of our need for Him. Not for doctrine. Not for hymns. Not for church. For Him.

And I am strongly convinced that many of us have disallowed Him any place in our lives, except as the thing we try to make sense out of. Oh, we know Him well enough. Just like Peter knew Jesus before he joined Him on the waves. Allow Him to call us to impossible places? No, we cannot do that. We are too busy studying and learning and debating and winning.

Meanwhile, we not only rob ourselves of who He is…but we rob the world. There is no Plan B. We are the Church. If we are unaware and unresponsive to the needs around us…then what hope has the world?

I’m reminded of what Rich Mullins once said:

I’m not sure that Truth is quite the way we understand it. I’m not sure that Truth has so much to do with statements of belief as it has to do with…Truth is alive; and that It is a Person. And that person is Jesus.

May God bless you and keep you. May His Spirit dwell richly within you. And may the mercies of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, be yours each morning.

Pax Christi.

semmie.

This entry was posted in Christianity, Culture, Current Events, Theology. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Dear Spmechy

  1. Steve says:

    I agree with you on a lot of what you said, though. “Where is the love?”

  2. semmie says:

    PCD is Phillips, Craig, & Dean…they’re a CCM group consisting of three non-trinitarian pastors.

  3. Steve says:

    I don’t think our nation is in a hell-in-a-handbasket situation. It could be better for sure. But it could be worse. Everyone is broken (no matter what the political situation is) and that always requires more love.

  4. semmie says:

    I definitely think it’s a hell-in-a-handbasket situation. Just because it could be worse doesn’t mean it’s “not that bad.” As for brokenness regardless of politics, I’m not sure about it. I actually think they are more related than not. But this idea is still new in my mind, and I’m not ready to blog about it yet.

  5. Steve says:

    What exactly is so bad? The economy? It’s turning around. Something larger? I’m not poo-poo-ing the recession/depression, but there was such a (predictable) runup in house prices that I don’t see any way to trick the market into going up without first going down.

  6. Jennifer says:

    Awesome. I whole-heartedly agree with your assessment of Tweb. That’s why I never could join the website, I “joined” at one point but never participated. I would read what people were saying…but in the end the big question for me was…WHY? Why does any of this matter…how does it affect the “plumber joe” on the street wondering why America is crashing down and he’s laid-off of work and can’t provide for his family anymore…and the people looking for real answers about truth and faith and love.

    Redemption…look for my mini-sermon 😀 on that topic in the letter headed your way.

    I love you Semmie.

  7. semmie says:

    i love you back. 🙂

Leave a Reply

