Dear CNN

Dear CNN & Susan Groesgen,

The wonderful thing about America is that everyday folks have the right to stand up and say, “there’s a problem.”  This is a beautiful right, a beautiful piece of society, a beautiful part of the process of social and legislative reform. You may not agree with those who are speaking up–that is also your right. But as an alleged reporter of news, and not a talk-show, your obligation to the American people is to stifle your opinion long enough to report the news.

Your opinion has no place in reporting the news. If you want to make your opinion known, get off the “news” pedestal and find your voice the way half a million Americans did yesterday.  Gather with like-minded Americans in protest; boycott biased news agencies; start a new blog where you can raise a stink. Using your reporting guise to promote your own disdain of conservatives is frankly disgusting. I don’t care how you feel about Glenn Beck or Fox News or the Tea Parties. Your job is to REPORT, not to judge. Susan Groesgen was out of line yesterday in her dismissive and condemning voice to the Tea Party participants.

I have always felt that CNN was about fair reporting. I have always promoted CNN, even above Fox; not because I always felt good and happy about what was being reported, but because I was challenged to think and weigh heavier matters than simply whether or not I was right about an issue. It is with anger and disappointment that I begin my CNN ban. I will be encouraging everyone I know to ban CNN from their home and office televisions and internet. I am encouraging all of the Tea Party participants to do the same. And when you fail for your outrageous bias and lack of reporting, I hope the tax payers rise up in celebration, and refuse to allow the government to bail you out.

This is just a memo, CNN and Ms. Groesgen. Your tea bag is in the mail.

Pax Christi.

semmie.

This entry was posted in Culture, Current Events. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dear CNN

  1. Steve says:

    I hope you don’t eventually write a “Dear Spmech” entry.

  2. Faust says:

    Ya know, it is a bit hypocritical if you support Fox’s “opinion” of the tea parties while condemning CNN’s. The last I checked CNN wasn’t footing the bill at several parties or encouraging people to have them like Faux was. That is not reporting the news, that is fabricating it.

  3. semmie says:

    i don’t think Fox “footed the bill.” if you have information to the contrary, i’d love to see it.

    and…i don’t see anywhere where i “supported Fox’s opinion” of the Tea Parties.

  4. Faust says:

    http://mediamatters.org/items/200904150033

    http://mediamatters.org/items/200904080025

    I’ll get some info on how much advertising time typically costs for given timeslots on Fox. Not into it tonight. And my argumentative pissiness is just my trademark. I am too mentally worn thin to care what news station you let rinse your mind at the moment(I dislike them all). I think it is wearing this damn ring too much. Sure, it makes me invisible but I feel like buttered toast.

Leave a Reply

