Ten Things I Love About My Job

I thought it would be fun to stretch the topic into other areas of my life. :) It’s important for me, particularly after a day like today, to reflect on the things I truly love about my work.

1: There is one woman I worked hard with to establish a monthly payment schedule that would work for her. Every month, she sends a check, and attaches a little post-it note with her appreciation and a smiley face. In today’s instant media world of sideways smileys and emoticons, I love an old-fashioned smiley. It brightens my day!

2: The Nurses on staff are so fantastic. I love that I can ask them any manner of question, and that I can bring to them any odd manner of patient phone call (and believe me, I have had some odd phone calls).

3: My Doctors? By far, and without any hesitation, the best doctors. They are exceptional practitioners, exceptional employers, exceptional individuals, and exceptionally fun. I love their hearts for the health of women and their babies. I also love that they laugh at my cow jokes. And no question–I would trust any one of them with my life. (I also love that I can tell them the strange dreams I have about them and they laugh at me.)

4: Ladies? When you find out you’re pregnant after months of ovulation induction and ultrasounds? Yes. We LIVE for those phone calls. You don’t see or hear it, but that one phone call sets the office abuzz. Some of us get misty-eyed. Every-single-one of us smiles.

5: I know you won’t believe it, but at the beginning of every month, I get the distinct honor of counting how many obstetric appointments each of the docs had for the previous month. It is dorky, but I love doing that.

6: I don’t have to sell anything. I loved my job at the bank, but it is incredibly fulfilling to not have sales goals! If that ever changes, I will be calling all of my girlfriends to schedule their girly appointments.

7: My jobs allows me to invest financially in things that I am passionate about–like music, books, and two young men in Burkina Faso.

8: We stay busy. I know it sounds odd, and I almost loathe myself for saying it after a day like today, but I am so thankful that we don’t have time to stand around and do nothing. It makes the day go quickly. It keeps us sharp!

9: There is a very blurry line which separates coworkers from friends. I genuinely care about the people I work with, and I know they care about me. That is a rare gift.

10: And finally? What is the thing I love most about my job??? I may be a softy, but…more than anything else…I love when the ladies come back for their post partum visit and there’s a beautiful 6 week old baby needing to be held and cuddled. Babies make us happy. :)

I hereby challenge you to tell someone what you love about your own job!

Pax Christi!
Sar

One thought on “Ten Things I Love About My Job

  1. Hey, Semmi,
    I invested 35 years in the medical industry – pharms and clin path – and share your enthusasium with this unique aspect of USA free enterprise. The level of excellence and devotion in American medicine is unique in the world. I see it changing abruptly and am devasted by the edicts of political interuption and interferience. May God protect the USA.

    Dave Wade

Leave a Reply

