Family

My brain is running a thousand miles a minute. I have so much to contemplate! Like…

1: How, my friends??? How am I ever going to preserve the documents that’ve been handed to me?

2: How am I going to share the information, making it accessible to the extended family?

3: What is the best way to communicate with extended family? There seems to be a generational gap, an invisible force that separates the f@cebookers from the letter writers; at present, I see one option: I must employ both methods of communication for the sake of the Family Tree.

4: When did Clayt grow up? And how did I miss that? Wasn’t it just yesterday I was rocking him and singing over him?

5: I never sang over Hannah Lynne. I never realized how that has impacted my relationship with her until this weekend. Don’t fret, my dear; we will find your song.

6: What is the best way to encourage the family to preserve their stories?

7: I love that I get to love my uncles. I am so, so ridiculously thankful for their place in my life and in my heart. God knew.

8: A cousin approached me at the reunion and asked if I was Sarah, Heidi’s daughter. He proceeded to tell me that he knew my mom many years ago when she was a candy striper. My mom, who I then introduced, was quite embarrassed, but admitted that she still had a picture somewhere of her in the uniform. Two questions: where is that photo? And what is a candy striper?

9: Isn’t it amazing how resemblance happens within a family? I love seeing the common traits and personalities, not merely among siblings, but among cousins and extended family. It boggles my mind!

10: There is no greater gift…than belonging.

Pax Christi!
Sarah

3 thoughts on “Family

  1. Hi Sarah,

    A “candy striper” is (or was) a young, high-school-aged, girl who acted as a volunteer at hospitals. Usually, these girls were interested in the nursing field and many later became nurses. Now, I guess, they are merely a footnote in history.

    I don’t think that I can answer any other questions, but I do agree with Number 10. “There is no greater gift…than belonging.”

    Shalom!!!

    Steve

  2. Agree with Steve. My sister was a candy striper at a National City, California hospital. The term came from the cute uniforms they wore. They were made of white fabric with thin, red vertical stripes.

Leave a Reply

