So. Stupak.

I’ve been putting off writing this blog because I was so disheartened by Representative Bart Stupak’s choices in the Health Care debate.

As I’ve said before, I disagree with Stupak on several issues. I, however, have always respected him, always trusted him. It’s hard for me to explain, and you may roll your eyes and call me naive–that’s okay–but Stupak is from Menominee. He’s a Yooper. The atmosphere, the culture, the issues of the Upper Peninsula tend to cultivate character. I don’t mean that we are inherently better. But it’s Smalltown, U.S.A.! People in Upper Michigan leave their doors unlocked at night. They greet each other on the street. They are related to half of their company at any given time. There is no benefit to dishonesty in a place where everyone knows everyone else’s business. We hunt, we fish, we brake for deer. We stop and pull each other’s cars out of snowbanks in winter. Our dogs run unleashed, and if they bite us, we shoot them.

It’s so hard for me to accept that Menominee Stupak is the same as Washington Stupak. I can’t even digest it. Every time I try, my stomach lurches. I feel totally disillusioned and betrayed by his recent actions regarding the Health Care bill.

Don’t misunderstand me. Stupak has been in favor of this bill from the start. I didn’t expect him to vote against his conscience.

But what a sham! This idea that Stupak was going to vote “no” because of the abortion issue was nothing but a game. He told us last year (October, I think?) that his intent was to see Health Care reform, and the abortion matter would not keep him from voting “yes.” So…what did he gain in all of this drama about abortion?

Money for our district airports.

Far worse than the actual “yes” or “no” vote, Stupak has broken faith with so many constituents. This was all a puppet show. I’m not sure yet who was pulling the strings, but Stupak sure put on a show.

So I ask you…

If we cannot trust a Congressman from the Upper Peninsula of Michigan…who can we trust?

9 thoughts on “So. Stupak.

  1. I was really encouraged that Rep. Stupak was taking on this fight. Very discouraged to see that he finally gave in to an Executive Order (which can be overturned at anytime, similar to a Pope saying one thing and the next one comes in and overturns it).

    I have known Stupak for most of my life, I don’t feel his intentions were to gain media attention or to do a puppet show; I really do feel he wanted to keep the pro-life section in there but in the end we will never know what happens in the sausage making factory.

    Growing up in Menominee County where they make Washington politics look like a preschool game of musical chairs, I have seen first hand how politics can be some of the most ruthless weapons people can use on another person. So really, U.P. politicians can be some of the most skilled in the nation haha.

    Very disappointing but if we want real “change we can believe in” November will be here soon enough.

    • Hi Ben.

      Stupak has been an unapologetic pro-life voice. I think it was natural (and commendable) for him to take on this issue.

      But he never intended to vote against this bill. He made it clear that he supported the Health Care bill, and that if he could not “fix” the abortion wording, he would still vote yes. I don’t believe he was looking for media attention, either. But I am angry and discouraged that he played this game. And what was the end game? Was it all about the airport money?

      Bottom line…and I agree with you whole-heartedly…November approaches.

  2. This is a sad day. I think a lot of the Democrats who oppose abortion were looking for Stupak to make a difference here. And bottom-line is, he let them down. Especially those of the U.P., where the Democrats are probably the most conservative ones in the nation. Pork, pork, pork, pork, pork. Gotta love Washington politics. :P

    I love your description of the U.P.!!! Lol. I miss home. I miss the tress & the lake, the wilderness, the quiet atmosphere. There is no place in the world more beautiful.

    • Oh, they definitely were looking to Stupak to stand against the Machine. But that’s just it–he flat out SAID that he would vote for this health care bill, even if he didn’t get the wording he wanted on language! Ugh. I don’t mind the “politics,” I guess; but I mind the dishonesty. Can’t we be brilliant enough to make a difference without lying and manipulating others?

    • Welcome, troll! Oddly enough, I used to love traveling below the Bridge as a child. It felt like I was visiting a whole different world! I am glad your memories of the U.P. are fond, and I hope you’ll visit again. :)

  3. Checked my $ bills; they still say ‘In God We Trust’ (i am gonna put a few of them in plastic and save them so I can show people 20 yrs from now; the people who will doubt anything that archaic ever existed, when they show me their ‘All Power to Barak’ currency.
    Seriously, tho….the way I have always explained my view on it; the root word of ‘politics’ is ‘polite’, and to be ‘polite’, you have to ‘lie’ (not too much way around that).
    “THEY” have always lied to us, so why is this time any worse? Besides the fact that this time involves a hometown guy, it hurts because, like many other topics (relationships, church, life in general), we really WANT to have hope. It is this WANT that sets us up for, yet another, disappointment. (sux to be us, eh?)
    Only advice I have is to ‘shake the dust off your feet, and hope the bass tards choke on it’ (pardon my almost french).
    Fight the good fight, retreat to higher ground, and shoot ‘em in the back whenever you can. ~prolly a code of the old west~

  4. Hiya Sarahmoo!
    It all looked, in hindsight, like smoke and mirrors. Stupid…er…uh…PAK, StuPAK was in on some scheme with the Chosen One, probably to divert the attention of certain Republicans while Pork was being served elsewhere. I could be wrong, as I often am, but Bart is definitely ‘under the covers’ with the chief; just dont know if he will like it when Barak rolls over and pushes him onto the floor.
    The screw up by Biden ‘This is a big ‘F’ing deal’ caught me by surprise, by the way.

    • Ray, you wrote:

      <>

      Unfortunately, you are probably right. He-Who-Shall-Not-Be-Named-For-Fear-Of-Blood-Shooting-Out-Of-Our-Eyes is always saying, “watch the other hand,” “what is the other hand doing?” Ugh @ us for not realizing this was another distraction. Stupak intended to vote yes, and he did. The stuff in the middle served a purpose, but it wasn’t the purpose we thought it was.

      Ugh. Ugh. Ugh.

      Now…I didn’t hear the Biden statement. But…I’m not surprised. Did he actually use the word, or did he say “effing”?

Leave a Reply

