Marvelous, Glorious, Wonderful Books!

Books!

Marvelous, glorious, wonderful books!

That’s right, folks! Books, books, books! There’s a book sale at the public library next weekend and my stoked-o-meter has already overheated and melted the nice plastic stoked-0-meter pointer doodad!

Books. Oh, glorious books! My heart is overwhelmed with such hope and anticipation! Books make things happen. They bring random thoughts together and birth ideas you never knew you had. Books are magical. Really, they are! Have you ever considered the time and thought and blood (I’m not joking) that a stranger would put into a book just for the sake of communicating something to you? Really, have you thought about that? Most of us these days are bloggers at the least; even those who don’t blog keep updates on twitter and other social networking sites. How hard is it to write something memorable? And that’s just 140 characters long!

The incredible skill required to write a book cannot be overstated (though, you wouldn’t know it from some of the garbage being published nowadays, would you?). The ability to communicate effectively with a faceless, nameless audience is–I’m convinced–an insanely passionate and compelling force, rather than a simple desire to see one’s own words in print. And most days, writing is more like dry-heaving–empty and unsatisfying (at least, it is for me)–than mining for gold.

But even dry-heavers are worth reading. And even dry-heavers deserve credit for spending so much time on their knees, gagging into the porcelain.

And books, even poorly written, are to be loved. Just like people, who sometimes come from odd or unsavorly circumstances, each tells a story. Each is a story.

Come on! Get excited with me! How can you not be excited, when Sunday will be the great $2 Paper Bag Event? Everything I can fit into a paper bag for $2! That’s a steal, my friends; a steal. So come. Tell me which books to be on the lookout for. This is your one opportunity to try and influence my reading habits. Here’s my list so far:

  • Anything Jane Austen
  • Anything C.S. Lewis
  • Anything G.K. Chesterton (because, as a rule, you can never have too much Chesterton, Lewis, or Austen. Trust me on this; I have a Chesterton to give away. Don’t let me forget.)
  • The Temple: Its Ministry and Services (I know…good luck finding Edersheim at a public library; but I have to try!)
  • Atlas Shrugged
  • Lenin, Stalin, & Hitler: The Age of Catastrophe
  • Wuthering Heights (I know! Can you believe I haven’t read this?)
  • Mandie Books. Right, stop laughing. I was reading them as a young girl, but unfortunately, I grew up faster than Mandie did. Lois Gladys Leppard left me off in the middle of Europe.
  • Have I mentioned how much I love making lists? I really do.

So what do you say? Do you have any book suggestions for me?

Did I mention the part where I get to shove as many books as possible into a paper bag for only $2??? Oh, yeah, baby. :D

    8 thoughts on “Marvelous, Glorious, Wonderful Books!

    1. Oh, as far as other books are concerned…

      Anything Chaim Potok, preferrably The Chosen and The Promise (although The Chosen is far better)

      If you can find anything from Walter Wangerin, Jr, he has some pretty amazing stuff, too. He has a collection of great essays in Ragman. The Book of the Dun Cow is also very, very captivating.

      • The Book of the Dun Cow?

        I like mine VERY well dun…

        *snicker*

        Sorry. I couldn’t resist. All added to the list. Thanks, Jayce. Keep adding…anything, anything, everything!

    2. Phantastes by George MacDonald, one of Lewis’ big influences. I haven’t read anything else by MacDonald, but I’m sure it’s all good.

      If you’re going to read Rand, then read Hobbes as well, The Leviathan.

      The remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro

      The Physiology of Taste by Jean Anthelme Brillat-Savarin one of the greatgrandads of foodie-ism.
      Alas, Babylon by Pat Frank

      Catch-22 by Joseph Heller

      Doctor Zhivago by Boris Pasternak

      Pensees by Blaise Pascal

      1776 by John McCullough

      Team of rivals by Dorris Kearns Goodwin

      Why I am a Christian the one edited by Norman Geisler and Paul K. Hoffman

      and this one you probably won’t find, but just in case Crucifixion in the Ancient World and the Folly of the Cross by Martin Hengel.

      Have fun!

      • Ooooh! Thanks for mentioning MacDonald. I think I knew that, but it always slips my brain when I’m looking for books. Nice list, Kelpie! I’ll see what I can do. :)

    3. Actually, I’ve found lots of books at the county library that are pretty cheap, but not at two dollars for a bagful. I usually just come across something merely by perusing the shelves, and am easily inspired to pick up something that I had never considered reading before. I can be very eclectic with my reading sometimes.

      Right now, I can’t think of anything in particular that I would want. There’s even a backlog of reading that I haven’t gotten to. I do, however, appreciate the offer.

      Shalom!

      • Steve,

        Saying you don’t need new (to you) books because you have a backlog of reading to do is akin to saying you don’t need to befriend new people because you haven’t called your old friends recently. I do promise, however, not to read any of the books I pick up this weekend until I’ve finished reading the two I’m currently working on (one of which I promised a friend I’d read some time ago and have been putting off…woopsies…). :)

        I’m like you, too. I *love* perusing book sales and picking up authors I’ve never heard of!

        As for the $2 Bag Event, I’m really excited about it. However, it’ll be the last day of the sale; which means that a lot of the more well-known authors will probably be gone before I have a chance to stuff them in my paper bag. So my plan is to make a run through on Friday and see what I can find from my list, then go back Sunday and stuff my paper bag. :)

        I could write on and on about my excitement and my plans for all of these books, but I won’t bore you. Well, I won’t bore you until I get back from the Book Sale. Woot!

        Pax Christi, Steve!

    Leave a Reply

    