Alcorn: Was Pat Robertson Right?

Several years ago, I read Randy Alcorn’s book about Heaven. I certainly didn’t agree with him entirely, but I was challenged to reconsider so many assumptions I’d held about eternity–and that was an invaluable tool. I’ve since used the book more as a reference or study book than as reading material. I love it! If you haven’t read this book, you need to. Your entire concept of what Heaven is, and why it exists, will be challenged.

I didn’t even know Randy Alcorn had a blog, if you want to know the truth about it. A couple of nights ago, after discussing the now-infamous Pat Robertson statement about Haiti being cursed, in a moment of frustration, I googled “was Pat Robertson right about Haiti?” And behold! Randy Alcorn’s blog, titled, “Was Pat Robertson Right?“. I love it when God brings people and resources into my life when I’m being frustrated and flippant. He’s so good at reminding me not to take myself so seriously.

Anyway, I want to encourage you all to go and read Alcorn’s words on this matter. He is gracious but firm (and incredibly articulate) in explaining the problem with Robertson’s presumption about Haiti. As Christians, I think it’s important that we speak truth when it needs to be spoken, but also that we do so without alienating or condemning those who may be erring.

So Randy–thanks for the blog and for setting a standard by which we can learn to disagree without condemnation! And Pat–thanks for encouraging generosity towards the Haitian people!

Pax Christi!

Sarah

7 thoughts on “Alcorn: Was Pat Robertson Right?

  1. The fact that Randy leaves out, as does Pat, is the fact that Haiti is poor because the United States and France have tampered with its politics since its independence. The Haitian Revolution – something carried out entirely by chattel SLAVES – was one of history’s most defining moments. But alas, Haiti became the classic example of a neo-colony. It has nothing to do with God. It has to do with the imperialist policies of wealthy countries. The United States supported tyrannical Haitian dictators, the same way it supported other dictators in Latin America (such as in Chile, Guatemala, Nicaragua, pre-Castro Cuba, etc.).

    This video explains it very well:
    This video removed due to blatant Communist slobberfest.</i

  2. So Julia…are you a Communist?

    Do you even know who Mao and Che were?

    I mean…are you honestly going to sit there and suggest that Communism is the answer?

    You’re free to think that (what a nice freedom!). You’re also free to post this video on your own blog. I don’t condone Che, Mao, or the Hammer & the Sickle.

  3. Hi Sarah,

    By the way, I’m still around! I check your blogs about once or twice a week, but I may not always comment.

    The expression “The rain falls on the just and the unjust.” is quite applicable here. When God sent the Babylonians to destroy Jerusalem, There were (as mentioned in Ezekiel) still some who were God-loving/God-fearing folk in the mix with the idolaters. And they perished together.

    By the way, I found a really neat verse while reading Ezekiel:

    Ezekiel 33:32 (New International Version)
    32 Indeed, to them you are nothing more than one who sings love songs with a beautiful voice and plays an instrument well, for they hear your words but do not put them into practice.

    Hey, he’s one of us! Maybe we can get together and jam with him in Heaven. We can have David play the harp. (harmonica ;-)

    Keep praying for Haiti and revival! Do what you can, and send what you can, if ever possible.

    Later!

    • Steve Ward! I always miss you when you don’t comment. It’s good to know that you’re still around. I hope you are well!

      The just and the unjust. Yes. We’re all in the same boat, aren’t we? That’s why I love the point that Alcorn made–“we live by God’s mercy.” It’s the truth, isn’t it? None of us knows what may befall us on any given day. And none of us are exempt from the struggles, the tragedies of life. We can do our best, perhaps, by helping those in need today; and trusting God with our tomorrow.

      I will definitely keep praying and doing my own part in the Haiti situation. And I encourage you (and all of my blog readers) to do the same. We each play our own role, and none is insignificant.

      I bet David plays one bad harp… :) Speaking of which, I need to think and write more about music. If I do, will you comment more often?

      Pax Christi! Good to see you, Steve!
      Semmie.

Leave a Reply

