Sunlight

I recall one analogy that had a profound impact on me as a young person. It had been said that our own concept of righteousness was like a room with white walls, white linens, white carpet. Turning on the light, you may exclaim how clean and beautiful the room appears, but in the rays of morning that stream in warm from the window, even the tiniest blemish or stain becomes loud and garish.

This is an excellent portrayal of our need for a Savior. And not just our need for a Savior, but our need for His truth to stream in upon our lives and reveal the tiny flaws that we have been oblivious to in our created light. Truly, without Him, we cannot even recognize our sin.

I thought of this again today as I was driving home in the late afternoon sun. For the first time in several weeks, I donned my sunglasses to avoid the glare. I hate the glare. I hate the light. I’m a night owl. I’m a quiet, dark personality. But more than that, I am prone to light- and heat-induced migraines. In spite of this, as I neared the Crossroads, I felt a sudden urge to remove my sunglasses and soak in the light.  I squinted. It hurt my eyes. It warmed my face. It was a beautiful hurt.

I thought, too, about the winter sunlight, how the glare from the snow can be such agony, and yet how desperately we need it to warm our bodies and our land. Isn’t that the way it is with Truth? We hide from it because it ranges from annoying us to bringing us to our knees in debilitating pain. And yet, it is what heals us. It is what we need and what we crave.

And it occurred to me again how much I need the light of God’s presence to permeate the deep (and the not so deep) places of my heart, mind, spirit and reveal my sin. I am so in need of Him…more and more each day.

Is God’s light shining in your life? What does He reveal?

Pax Christi.

Semmie.

Leave a Reply

