Are You Ready?

I was contemplating again today the correlation between the times we are living in and the apocalyptic prophecies in Scripture. I have always been refining my eschatological stance, and have never quite believed that we would see the fulfillment of prophecy as other time periods and peoples may have. In spite of my fervent rejection of amillenialism, I have always sort of adopted the distance and unconcern of that position. Lately, I fear, I take a far more literal view of Scripture. I am not sure when my view changed. Perhaps, as it usually is with matters such as this, it has been a series of small, subtle changes over a long period of time.

It brought me to question in prayer. With everything as tense as it is, with the direction that we are going, why does God tarry? What is He waiting for? Why doesn’t He come, in all His glory and power, and cause all of us to fall on our faces before Him in worship and awe? What is He waiting for?

And then I remembered 2 Peter 3:

9The Lord is not slow in keeping his promise, as some understand slowness. He is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance.

He is patient with you. He is waiting for you. He is waiting for you to come to repentance. He doesn’t want you to perish.

You know the message of the gospel*. You know the story of salvation. You know of Christ, of His death and His resurrection. You don’t need a flannel board and cute little paper Bible characters and sheep.

His blood was shed for you. God’s love for you–personal, individual you–is so deep, so intricate, so complete, so passionate, that He gave everything to offer you a means to be reconciled.

You.

Today, if you hear His voice, do not harden your heart. He is waiting for you.

Pax Christi.

Semmie.

*If, by some chance, you are unsure what the Gospel is and would like to talk with me about it, please don’t hesitate to comment or email.

2 thoughts on “Are You Ready?

  1. I’m actually excited about what will come to pass very, very soon. For a time, I wavered from eager anticipation to worrying about what Christians would face in the time of the Tribulation. But now, I long to be with my Savior. I still fear for my wife and children though. My wife has just about ruined financially, and refuses to remedy the situation. while the kids have been spoiled by her and, like today’s society, they have become quite narcissistic in their attitudes and demands. This makes me sad just typing it.

  2. I’m still praying for your family, Steve. Don’t give up just yet. You never know when God will get someone’s attention and cause them to change their course. He is good at that, you know? :)

    I, too, am excited. It’s important to keep perspective on things; not get bogged down with feeling like everything is “meaningless, meaningless, a chase after the wind,” which is what I sometimes tend to do! Keep your eye on the prize, friend…I’ll do the same. And pray for me, as I pray for you!

    Grace, peace, and mercy be yours in abundance!
    Semmie.

Leave a Reply

